Where students live
Fairfield is genuinely unusual. The dominant off-campus option here is not an apartment complex — it is a rented beach cottage. The concentration is along Fairfield Beach Road, Reef Road, Lantern Point, Riverside Drive, Penfield Road and College Place, the Beach area roughly a mile and a half south of campus. Fairfield's own pages describe the campus as "10 minutes to the beach"; an exact campus-to-Beach-Road mileage is not published by the university.
A second, smaller group — mostly graduate students and the occasional undergraduate — takes conventional apartments along the Post Road, Kings Highway and Commerce Drive corridor, or crosses the line into Bridgeport's Black Rock, where rents drop sharply.
Commuting is mostly by car, except that first-year and sophomore resident students are banned from having a vehicle on campus at all, including weekends. Only juniors and seniors may register one. The university runs Town Shuttle Route 2 to the Fairfield train station and Post Road retail, hourly Monday to Friday 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. and weekends noon to 9 p.m. There is no university beach shuttle listed.
Fairfield sits on Metro-North's New Haven Line with three stations. One naming trap worth knowing: "Fairfield Metro" was renamed "Fairfield–Black Rock" station by the Connecticut DOT in March 2024, specifically because commuters were getting confused in navigation apps. Several apartment communities still market themselves under the old name.
Heads up — this school breaks the usual rules
- You sign the lease years before you learn whether you're allowed to use it. Fairfield requires resident students to live on campus for all four years. Seniors apply through an off-campus lottery held in October of junior year, and approval is "at the sole discretion of the University." Meanwhile beach landlords lease two to three years ahead — in August 2026 houses were being advertised for 2028–29 and 2029–30.
- The University "has no obligation to honor an off-campus lease signed by a student." Its own Dean of Students letter says so, tells students not to sign until after the lottery, and warns that "the number of requests to live off campus usually exceeds the number that can be released."
- The beach house costs more than the dorm. A verified 4-bedroom at $10,000 a month on a 9-month lease is $2,500 per bed — $22,500 per student — against $19,790 for a campus double with a meal plan attached. Roughly a $2,700 premium, and you still buy your own groceries.
- The Beach Zone occupancy cap is four unrelated tenants, not five. The town's general cap is five, but the Certificate of Rental Occupancy application sets four in the Beach Zone District — odd-numbered houses 433–801 Fairfield Beach Road, everything west of Reef Road, and all of French Street, Boman Way and Pine Creek Avenue.
- You cannot legally rent here without a Certificate of Rental Occupancy, and the application lists every tenant's name, signature and licence plate number. Quietly adding a fifth roommate is a documented change in tenancy.
- The Student Conduct Code follows you to the beach with cash fines — a first off-campus offence brings a $200 fine, a second $400 plus separation, dismissal or expulsion. Neighbours' reports feed the process. (Figures are from the 17 August 2023 guide, the most recent edition Fairfield has published.)
- A Bridgeport Superior Court injunction bans large gatherings in the common areas of Lantern Point, and the Lantern Point Association separately caps gatherings at 250 students with ID passes required at all times.
- Living at the beach does not get you beach parking. A resident "A" sticker is $25; a non-resident "J" sticker is $250. If your car is registered out of state, you are not a resident for sticker purposes.
Buying the standard college checklist here will waste money — check your building first.
Apartments & rentals students actually use
Rents confirmed on the landlord's own site are marked verified. Where only a listing service published a number, it is marked third-party.
| Community | Distance | Units & rates | Furnished? | Website |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canfield Park at Fairfield Metro 306 Canfield Ave, Bridgeport. Cheapest verified shared option — and the only route that clearly beats the dorm | Could not verify | Verified: studio $1,963–2,165 · 1 BR $2,413–2,903 · 2 BR $3,302–3,401 per unit 2 BR works out at $1,651–1,700/bed Prices "include base rent plus all required monthly fees" | Not stated | canfield-park.com |
| Alto Fairfield Metro 1401 Kings Hwy | 1.9 mi · 5 min drive | Verified: studio $2,289–3,008 · 1 BR $2,660–3,398 · 1 BR+den $2,866–3,810 · 2 BR $3,563–4,536 per unit 2 BR works out at ≈$1,781/bed Gas, water and sewer included — not electricity. Garage parking extra, $150–175/mo; second car $135. Own site states a 14-month lease; the listing service says 7–14 — resolve this before signing | Unfurnished | altofairfieldmetro.com |
| RockRidge Place · Cypress Apartments Ellsworth St, Bridgeport | Could not verify | RockRidge 1 BR $1,975+ · Cypress studio $1,675, 1 BR $1,995 Third-party; inclusions not verified | Not stated | apartments.com |
| Trademark Fairfield 665 Commerce Dr | 2.2 mi · 5 min | Studio $2,425 · 1 BR $3,315 · 2 BR "call for rent" — not published on its own site Heat, hot water, parking for one vehicle, amenity fee and trash included Rents third-party | Unfurnished | trademarkfairfield.com |
| Creekline at Fairfield 219 Ash Creek Blvd | Could not verify | Not published on its own site, phone only. Studio $2,356, 2 BR $3,076+ (third-party) In-home laundry, balconies; utilities not stated | Not stated | livecreeklineapts.com |
| Fairfield Station Lofts 78 Unquowa Pl | 1.7 mi · 4 min | 1 BR $3,740 (third-party). Own site lists nine plans including a 3 BR but no rents Utilities not included — residents "set up and pay for all services separately." Parking $150/mo | Unfurnished | fairfieldstationlofts.com |
| The Anchorage 333 Unquowa Rd | Could not verify | 35 floor plans, studio to 2 BR, 610–2,110 sf. Rent not published on its own site. 1 BR $3,895+ (third-party) Listed price "reflects all fixed, mandatory fees" | Not stated | theanchorageapts.com |
| 989 Fairfield Beach Rd Five bedrooms — which exceeds the four-person Beach Zone cap | Beach | $10,000/mo, 5 BR/2.5 BA, "winter/academic rental" = $2,000/bed/mo Third-party | Not stated | homes.com |
| 2218 Fairfield Beach Rd The verified beach benchmark for this guide | Beach | $10,000/mo, 4 BR/1.5 BA, 1,800 sf = $2,500/bed/mo. Explicit 9-month lease, $10,000 deposit. Marketed for the 2028–29 school year Washer/dryer, A/C, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi included. No pets Third-party | Fully furnished | apartments.com |
| 296 Reef Rd | Beach | $10,000/mo, 4 BR/3 BA, 9-month furnished = $2,500/bed/mo Third-party | Furnished | homes.com |
| 2149 Fairfield Beach Rd Top of the beach market found | Beach | $11,500/mo, 3 BR/1.5 BA, academic year Sep 2028–May 2029 = $3,833/bed/mo Third-party | Not stated | homes.com |
| Beach student-rental specialists Fairfield Beach Houses · FairfieldStudentRental.com. Houses are marketed by nickname rather than address | Beach | 2–6 BR. Rents not published anywhere on either site. The landlord states students' homes "rent 2-3 years in advance of an academic year" On-site laundry, off-street parking, outdoor space | Furnished | fairfieldbeachhouses.com |
Details compiled from landlord sites, town records and public listings, August 2026. Rates and availability change every lease season — verify everything with the property. A warning about beach listings on aggregator sites: one Fairfield Beach feed rendered a single property (172 College Place) simultaneously as $30,000/mo seasonal, $12,000/mo, and $85,000/mo. Those are almost certainly monthly, seasonal and full-academic-year totals collapsed into one "per month" field. Never take a beach rent from a listing site without checking the lease term attached to it.
The rules nobody tells you about
The Beach Zone cap is four, and one live listing already exceeds it
The Town of Fairfield's Certificate of Rental Occupancy application sets a general cap of five unrelated tenants per rental unit — but a stricter cap of four in the Beach Zone District, defined as "odd numbered houses from 433-801 on Fairfield Beach Road, all houses on Fairfield Beach Road west of Reef Road, and all houses on French Street, Boman Way and Pine Creek Avenue."
The general five-person rule appears verbatim in the Public Health Code of the Town of Fairfield: "No more than five (5) unrelated occupants shall occupy a dwelling unit unless a permit for a rooming house had been granted by the Director of Health." The four-person Beach Zone number and its street list appear on the town's CRO application form, not in the Health Code text we could load — the Health Code PDF contains no "Beach Zone District" definition at all. Fairfield University's own guide independently gives the same four-person figure. Treat the cap as real; treat the exact code section it derives from as unconfirmed.
Which makes it worth noticing that one live listing in the table above advertises five bedrooms on Fairfield Beach Road.
You cannot legally rent in Fairfield without a Certificate of Rental Occupancy
Public Health Code §3.3: "No person, firm, corporation, or agent thereof, shall rent to another or permit the occupation by another, of any dwelling until a Certificate of Rental Occupancy has been issued by the Director of Health."
The application must list every tenant's name, licence plate number and signature. The certificate is valid for a minimum of six months and continues "provided there are no changes in tenancy." The fee is $47 per unit for new tenants. Penalties run to $100 or six months' imprisonment, or both, for each offence, with each day of continuing violation a separate offence — and the form warns that a false statement is a Class A misdemeanor under Connecticut law.
The consequence students miss: your name, signature and plate number are on file with the Town Health Department. A quietly added fifth roommate is a documented change in tenancy.
The Student Conduct Code follows you to the beach, with cash fines attached
Fairfield's Off-Campus Living Guide states that "The Student Conduct Code applies to all Fairfield University students both on and off campus," and publishes an escalating schedule for off-campus incidents: a first offence brings a formal warning or conduct probation, a $200 fine and an educational sanction; a second brings a $400 fine and separation, dismissal or expulsion. Behaviour reported by police, university officials and neighbours feeds the process.
Date-stamp this one. The most recent Off-Campus Living Guide Fairfield has posted is dated 17 August 2023, and no 2025–26 or 2026–27 edition is published at any URL we could find. The $200 and $400 figures are current as of that 2023–24 guide — which is itself worth knowing: a university with a four-year residency requirement has not refreshed its off-campus guidance in three years.
A court injunction bans large gatherings at Lantern Point
"A permanent injunction issued by the Bridgeport Superior Court specifically prohibits large gatherings in the common areas of Lantern Point." The same university memo warns students not to visit private beach-area homes unless they live there or are invited: "Any individual(s) congregating in this area or trespassing on the property of beach area residents risk being documented and reported." The 2023 guide separately records Lantern Point Association rules — no gatherings exceeding 250 students on common property, and resident and guest ID passes required at all times.
The town and the university publish different quiet hours — and the police publish neither
Fairfield University's guide tells students quiet hours run Sunday to Thursday 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. and Friday to Saturday 11 p.m. to 8 a.m. The Town of Fairfield's noise code defines night as "10:00 p.m. Friday through 8:00 a.m. on Saturday" — an hour earlier on exactly the nights it matters. The code sets residential limits of 45 dBA at night and 55 dBA daytime, with a verbal warning first, $100 on a second offence and $250 for subsequent offences within six months.
And then the police department declines to publish decibel limits at all, saying instead that "the investigating officer will use a reasonableness standard, based on the totality of the circumstance" and that "the determination of a violation is solely within the enforcement agent's discretion" — noting officers may charge under state breach-of-peace statutes rather than the town ordinance.
So: the code says 45 dBA, the police say whatever the officer thinks, and the university tells you 11 p.m. when the code says 10.
The town sells students a separate, rationed permit — and won't publish its price
The Town runs a permit portal with a dedicated "Non-Commuter School Permit" for Fairfield University students. You must register with your home address, not your school address, and supply a DMV registration and proof of enrolment. Permits run 15 August 2026 to 15 May 2027, sold first-come first-served until they run out, with a waitlist after that. A $16 processing fee applies to card payments and is avoidable by cheque.
The base permit price is not published. The town's main parking page says only: "For Student Permit availability, please contact the Parking Department office." Commuter rail permits, by contrast, are published openly — Fairfield Center $400 a year, Southport $300, both with waitlists as of January 2026.
University parking: banned for two years, then $200
First-years and sophomores living on campus are explicitly prohibited from having vehicles on campus, including weekends, with ticketing, booting or towing plus fines and loss of future privileges. A junior or senior resident permit is $200; a commuter permit $150; a temporary guest permit $10 a day. Registration opens after 10 August. Permits are non-transferable, and you may not register a vehicle owned by an underclassman.
Cancelling the housing contract: a $400 deposit and no published penalty at all
The Residence Hall Agreement permits termination only by graduating, withdrawing, becoming a commuter, obtaining university release, or entering an approved study-away program, and requires a $400 refundable room deposit. Beyond that deposit and damage charges, Fairfield publishes no cancellation penalty schedule, no pro-rata refund table and no deadline-based forfeiture figures on any page we could load. The official Housing Lottery booklet sits behind an authenticated URL that returned a 403.
For a university that requires four years of residency, the absence of a published cancellation cost is itself worth knowing before you sign.
How it compares to a dorm
| Item | 2026–27 academic year |
|---|---|
| Room — triple | $8,560 |
| Room — expanded triple | $11,500 |
| Room — double / suite / quad | $12,100 |
| Room — single | $13,550 |
| Room — expanded single | $15,720 |
| Campus townhouse/apartment, triple | $12,510 |
| Campus townhouse/apartment, double | $16,550 |
| Campus townhouse/apartment, single | $18,540 |
| Meal — 14 meals + $100 dining | $7,690 |
| Meal — unlimited | $8,430 |
The standard on-campus package — double plus the 14-meal plan — is $19,790 for the academic year. With the unlimited plan, $20,530. A campus townhouse at double occupancy with the meal plan declined is $16,550.
The headline: the beach house costs more than the dorm
A verified 4-bedroom beach house at $10,000 a month on a 9-month lease is $2,500 per bed per month — $22,500 per student over the term, before electricity, gas, water or renter's insurance, none of which the listing states as included. The dorm double plus a meal plan is $19,790. Students at Fairfield are paying roughly a $2,700 premium to live at the beach — and then buying their own groceries on top of it.
The conventional apartment route: a 2-bedroom at Alto Fairfield Metro is $3,563 a month, so $1,781 a bed, plus $150 a month for parking, plus electricity. Call it roughly $2,050–2,150 a bed per month all-in.
The Bridgeport route: a 2-bedroom at Canfield Park is $3,302, so $1,651 a bed — the cheapest verified shared option within a short drive, and the only route that clearly beats the dorm.
The lease-term twist — Fairfield is the exception to the usual rule
At most universities the off-campus trap is a 12-month lease against a 9-month academic year. Fairfield is different, and it is worth understanding why.
Fairfield's room charge covers the academic year only, about nine months. You leave in May and pay nothing over the summer. Beach houses match that exactly — listings are written as "9 Month Lease," "academic year Sep 2028–May 2029," "winter/academic rental." That sounds generous until you see why: landlords deliberately retain June through August for summer-season letting at far higher rates. One listing showed the same house at $12,000 a month academic and $30,000 a month seasonal for June to August.
You are paying a premium precisely because the landlord gives up nothing — they get your nine months and their three summer months. Local reporting from February 2025 put the top of the market at $20,000 a month for four students, $5,000 each, noting that exceeds the mortgage payment on a $3 million home, and that "many landlords secure rentals three years in advance without a single ad being posted."
Conventional apartments do not match the academic year. Alto's own site states a 14-month lease; the listing service says 7 to 14 months. Either way, a 12-month lease against a 9-month year means about three months of dead rent, roughly $5,300 to $6,400 at Alto's 2-bedroom rate, unless you sublet — and a sublet changes the tenancy, which makes your Certificate of Rental Occupancy inaccurate.
The honest bottom line: at Fairfield, moving off campus is not the money-saving move it is almost everywhere else. The beach route costs more than the dorm. The apartment route only wins if you fill the summer months or take a Bridgeport address.
What you'll need
Furniture — uniquely here, mostly nothing changes. The beach stock is let fully furnished, and the verified Beach Road listing is explicit about it. Conventional apartments — Alto, Trademark, Fairfield Station Lofts — are unfurnished, which means buying a full apartment's worth of furniture for a nine-month occupancy. That is a genuinely bad trade, and it is the strongest argument for the beach if you can get released to use it.
A kitchen, from nothing. The meal plan stops being available by default. It is already optional in campus townhouses and village apartments; off campus, no commuter or off-campus plan price is published anywhere — the dining vendor's page loads marketing copy and no plan names, prices or eligibility rules at all. Groceries become a real line item, and it is the one students most often forget when comparing $2,500 a bed against a dorm rate that had food bundled in.
Laundry. In-unit at Alto (every plan), Trademark and Creekline; the verified beach listing includes a washer/dryer; the student-rental specialists advertise on-site laundry. Verify house by house — older beach cottages vary a lot.
Internet. The Beach Road listing includes high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Apartments generally do not: Fairfield Station Lofts states outright that utilities are not included and residents must set up all services separately. Alto includes gas, water and sewer but not electricity or internet.
Renter's insurance. No Fairfield University page and no town page we loaded states a requirement, and none of the community sites published a policy. Get one anyway — but know that the university does not address the question, so do not assume a landlord's coverage extends to you.
Parking, twice over. You lose the campus lot and inherit two separate rationed systems: the town's first-come-first-served student permit, and beach stickers you probably cannot get at resident rates. The 2023 university guide notes beach street parking is first-come, first-served, with tickets or towing for blocking driveways or neighbours' spaces.
And the thing no checklist covers: enforcement. Neighbours can and do report you, and those reports feed the university's own conduct process with fines attached. It is the biggest real change when you move off campus here.
Apartment checklist Apartment shop
Some links on this site are affiliate links — if you buy or request a quote through them, Elevate My Dorm may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, Elevate My Dorm earns from qualifying purchases. Prices are approximate and change often; the current price always appears on the retailer’s own site. About us