MS · Dorms · Off-Campus

University of Mississippi Off-Campus Housing (2026)

Some links on this page are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, Elevate My Dorm earns from qualifying purchases — at no extra cost to you.

How many of you can legally share a house? Oxford caps most detached rentals at three unrelated people and never more than the bedroom count — and it can prove a violation by counting cars parked overnight. See the rule, quoted from the city code, for 34 college towns →

Ole Miss charges every undergraduate $700 a year in Flex Dollars whether they live on campus or not — and its own housing portal publishes rents 60 to 170% higher than the properties themselves. Beds start around $499 a month, by the bed, on 12-month leases.

Where students live

Oxford's student housing fans out along three corridors, all south and east of the campus core. Old Taylor Road — Ivy & Elm, Taylor Bend, The Quarters and The Suites — is the closest and priciest band, roughly 0.2 to 1.4 miles out. Anderson Road — Redpoint, Lark, Rev on Anderson — sits 0.3 to 1.4 miles south. Highway 6 and Oxford Way to the east — The Domain, Ivy & Elm, Archive — trades distance for newer buildings. Anything past about 2.5 miles is car-dependent: Faulkner Flats at 3.7 miles, the Cottage Grove subdivisions at 3.2 to 3.9.

The bus is genuinely free. Oxford-University Transit says it plainly: "There is currently no bus fare to board." OUT runs dedicated student-housing routes — Green Archive, Hathorn, Orange, Brown, Brown Express, Yellow, Silver-Faulkner Flats — plus city and campus shuttle lines and an After Dark service.

Read the fine print on the community shuttles, though. Lark advertises pickup "approximately every 20 minutes, Monday through Friday from 7am to 7pm when class is in session." That is weekdays only, term only. Weekend groceries are on you.

Heads up — this school breaks the usual rules

Buying the standard college checklist here will waste money — check your building first.

Apartments & rentals students actually use

Read the billing line first. By the bed means you sign an individual lease for your bedroom and a roommate who bails is not your financial problem. By the unit means one lease and joint liability. At Ole Miss this matters more than any amenity, and it splits the market cleanly: the purpose-built student communities lease by the bed, the conventional apartments do not.

CommunityDistanceUnits & ratesFurnished?Website
Redpoint Oxford
2405 Anderson Rd. Cheapest per bed in Oxford — but the only one that charges extra for furniture
1.4 miPer bed: 2x2.5 $799 · 3x3 $649 · 3x3.5 $659 · 4x4 $555 · 4x4.5 $545–565 · 5x5 $555 · 5x5.5 $515 · 6x6.5 $499
By the bed · 10 Aug 2026 – 15 Jul 2027, 12 equal installments
Internet and in-unit laundry included. Electricity not included. Add-ons: reserved parking $20, trash $10, balcony $15–25
Optional +$25/moredpoint-oxford.com
Lark Oxford
Anchorage Rd
Not publishedPer bed: 1x1 $1,799 · 2x2 $1,049 · 3x3 $999 · 4x4 $699 · 5x5 $859
By the bed · 20 Aug 2026 – 25 Jul 2027, 12 equal installments
Internet and water/sewer included. Electricity not included. Required: $200/yr admin, $30 app, $10/installment trash
Furnishedlarkoxford.com
Archive Oxford
1000 Archive Cir. Discounting hard off list as of August 2026
Not publishedPer bed: 4x4 $699 (cut from $899) · 4x4.5 townhome $899–949 (from $1,099–1,149) · 2x2 $999 · 2x2.5 townhome $1,099 (from $1,299) · 1x1 $1,799 · 1BR+study $1,850
By the bed · 19 Aug 2026 – 24 Jul 2027, 12 equal installments
Internet and in-unit laundry included. Electricity not included. Required: $200/yr admin, $30 app, trash per installment
Furnishedarchiveoxford.com
The Hollis Townhomes
100 Hollis Cv. Closest option in this table by a distance
0.2 miPer bed: 4BR/3.5BA $649 · 3BR/3.5BA $1,250 · 1BR $899
Internet, water, sewer, trash and in-unit washer/dryer included
Single portal source — the 3BR figure looks anomalous against the 4BR; verify with the property
Furnished, incl. TVoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
Ivy & Elm
2572 Oxford Way
1.1 miPer bed: 1x1 $1,951–2,105 · 2x2 $1,338–2,727 · 3x3 $1,201 · 4x4 $1,195–1,205
By the bed · 11-month lease only
High-speed internet included; other utilities not specified
Fully furnishedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
West End Condos2.3 miPer bed: $723 (4BR)
Inclusions not published · portal source only
Unfurnishedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
Wellington Place2.9 miPer bed: $1,369–1,439 (2–4BR)
Inclusions not published · portal source only
Unfurnishedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
The Quarters / The Suites Oxford
101 Creekmore Blvd · 207 Hathorn Rd. Most floor plans sold out for Fall 2026
"Less than 1 mile"The Suites Belle 1x1 from $1,500/mo. Quarters 3x3 and 4x4 both sold out; Classic, Oxford and Magnolia 1x1 also sold out
By the bed · 12 Aug – 31 Jul, 12 equal installments
Internet only: "You will be charged for your electricity and water based off usage"
No lease-break or buy-out options — reletting is your job. Guarantor waiver $550
Furnished, fixedthequartersoxford.com
The Edison at Colonnade Crossing
814 Claremont Ave. Watch the fee stack
2.3 miPer unit: 1x1 $1,645–1,875 · 2x2 $1,925–2,200 · 3x2 $2,500–2,630
By the unit — joint liability · 12-, 9- and flexible terms
Required add-ons: $100/mo amenity fee plus $15/mo liability insurance — about $1,380/yr above the sticker price
Not specifiedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
Rev on Anderson0.3 miPer unit: $1,199–1,799 (1–2BR)
By the unit · inclusions not published · portal source only
Unfurnishedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
Cambridge Station0.9 miPer unit: $1,650–1,775 (2BR)
By the unit · portal source only
Unfurnishedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
Faulkner Flats3.7 miPer unit: $1,800–2,420 (1–3BR)
By the unit · portal source only
Unfurnishedoffcampus.housing.olemiss.edu
The Domain at Oxford · Taylor Bend · U Club TownhomesVariousRent not published. None of the three renders a rate on its public site; U Club's American Campus floor-plan URL returns only the corporate homepageDomain: furnisheddomainatoxford.com
The Retreat at Oxford · Highland Square · Campus Creek—Could not verify. The Retreat's domain failed DNS resolution on 30 Aug 2026; no reachable first-party site was located for Highland Square or Campus Creek. Do not budget from an aggregator figure for any of theseUnknown—

Details compiled from the communities' own sites and Ole Miss's off-campus portal, August 2026. Rates and availability change every lease season — verify everything with the property. Rows marked "portal source only" come from Ole Miss's own search, which elsewhere disagrees sharply with the properties themselves — treat them as indicative, not quoted. The real Oxford gotcha is unbundled monthly fees. Lark and Archive each charge a $200 annual administrative fee, a $30 application fee and a mandatory trash fee of about $10 per installment. Redpoint charges $25 a month for furniture the others include free — which quietly closes most of the gap between a $555 Redpoint 4x4 and a $699 Lark 4x4: the real difference is $119, not $144.

The rules nobody tells you about

The $700 you pay for campus food wherever you live

This is the finding that most changes the maths, and almost nobody mentions it. Ole Miss automatically assesses Flex Dollars to nearly every undergraduate regardless of where they live: any Oxford Campus undergraduate under 25 registered for at least 9 credit hours is charged "$350 Flex Dollars each fall and spring semester, in addition to any required meal plan(s)."

It is billed straight to your Bursar account and loaded onto your ID card at registration. And the money is trapped — Flex Dollars are "restricted to Ole Miss Dining locations, on-campus drink/snack vending machines, and the Café in the Ole Miss Bookstore."

So a senior in a four-bedroom on Anderson Road with a full kitchen still pays $700 a year into the campus dining system. The ID Center page publishes no opt-out or waiver process, and we could not verify that one exists. Budget it as sunk, and plan to actually spend it on campus lunches rather than let it expire.

Meal plans proper are a separate matter: Ole Miss Dining categorises first-years as required to buy and upperclass residents as not required, and the requirement does not reach off-campus students at all. Only the Flex Dollar assessment does.

Skip the live-on requirement and Ole Miss bills you for a room you never occupy

First-year students with fewer than 30 post-high-school credit hours must live in university housing for two consecutive semesters. The exemptions are narrow and each needs proof: turning 20 before the academic year starts, living with a parent or guardian within 60 driving miles and commuting, having graduated high school a full year earlier and lived in college housing for two full semesters, being married, or having children. The exemption deadline for this cycle was 29 August 2026 at 4 p.m. CT.

Here is the enforcement clause, and it is the unusual part. A student who neither obtains an exemption nor lives on campus "will be responsible for all housing charges." Ole Miss bills you for a dorm room you never occupy while you separately pay an off-campus lease.

Cancel after 1 July and you owe both semesters

The cancellation deadline is 4 p.m. CT on 1 July for fall and 1 January for spring. Past it, students "will be financially responsible for BOTH fall and spring semesters if you are enrolled at the university." There is no flat cancellation fee published — the penalty is the full remaining contract, which for a contemporary double is $8,030.

Two more traps on the same page. First, cancelling is not the same as being released from the requirement: "A processed cancellation does not indicate the student is exempt from the first year or transfer residency requirement." Second, after the deadline the only route is an appeal, and "release from your student housing contract is not guaranteed." A transfer residency requirement is referenced in that clause, but Ole Miss does not publish its terms on any page that mentions it.

Ole Miss master-leases four off-campus properties and won't say whether they satisfy the live-on rule

The university runs a master lease program at The Rev Oxford, The Suites Oxford, Quarters at Oxford and Taylor Bend, pitched as "the independence of off-campus housing with the added security of university-managed leasing agreements." The page publishes no rates, no lease terms, and — the thing a first-year actually needs to know — no statement about whether master-leased housing counts toward the residency requirement. The Quarters' own site routes its application to Ole Miss housing, which implies it does. The university does not say so. Ask in writing before you sign.

Living on campus costs more to park than living off it

Permit2026–27 costWho
Residential$425Students in campus housing
Residential Overflow$200Campus housing
Commuter Blue$330Students living off campus
Commuter Red$130Off campus, Red lots only
Pavilion Garage$625Faculty, staff and off-campus students

A student who moves off campus and buys Commuter Red pays $295 less per year than they did living in a dorm. And first-years can have cars: Ole Miss publishes no class-year vehicle restriction anywhere, only that "all students bringing a vehicle to campus must register that vehicle and order a parking permit online."

Game weekends: campus closes Friday, and the Square parking increase failed

On home game days campus "is closed to general parking," and only vehicles with a campus residential or specific athletics game-day pass may enter. Residential permit-holders get one concession — they "do not have to move [their] car from [their] residential area for home football games." Off-campus commuters get no such protection. OUT diverts its Saturday routes to two park-and-ride shuttles.

The Grove closes early too: "At 5:30, The Grove will close to all patrons in preparation for public setup," with free personal tent setup opening at 6 p.m. Friday and registered student orgs getting 2 to 3 p.m.

The game-day increase failed. Oxford’s Board of Aldermen rejected the proposed game-day parking increase at its 1 September 2026 meeting, as reported by The Daily Mississippian. The plan would have charged $5 for the first three hours and $15 an hour after that on Ole Miss home football Saturdays, with a $101 game-day violation. Instead, Square parking stays at $1.25 an hour — still roughly $20 to hold a premium spot all day — and the ordinary violation schedule ($16 paid within 14 days, $26 after) applies on game days too. An alternative $2.50-for-four-hours plan died for lack of a second, and the city’s new pay-by-plate stations would have needed reprogramming to enforce any game-day time limit.

Towing from your own apartment lot is capped by ordinance

Oxford's towing ordinance sets a $250 flat towing fee for light-duty vehicles from private lots and $45 a day storage after a 24-hour grace period. More usefully, the tow company must first obtain "a request/authorization from the property owner, the property owner's employee or the lessee of the property," and each authorisation is specific to a particular date, time and vehicle — blanket standing authorisations are not permitted.

Signage must be metal, "not less than eighteen (18) inches wide by twenty-four (24) inches tall," at every entrance, at a ratio of one sign per 20 parking spaces in restricted multi-unit residential zones. If those signs are not up, the tow is out of compliance. Towers must also report each tow to Oxford PD within one hour. Photograph the signage at your complex when you move in.

Lease clauses about tailgating or game-weekend guests: no Oxford community publishes its guest or tailgating policy on its public site. Treat it as a question for the leasing office, not a documented fact.

How it compares to a dorm

Room typePer semesterAcademic year
Traditional triple$3,297$6,594
Traditional double (Brown, Crosby, Deaton, Hefley, Martin-Stockard, Stewart)$3,430$6,860
Contemporary / Residential College double (Burns, Minor, Pittman, RH 1–3, Res College South, Lucky Day)$4,015$8,030
Campus Walk 4BR apartment$4,018$8,036
Northgate 1BR apartment$4,809$9,618
Residential College single / suite single$4,816$9,632

Plus a $100 non-refundable application fee. The system average for a double rose from $7,100 to $7,490 for 2026–27 — a $390 increase, the largest in the state.

Meal plans, annual: Weekly 15 $4,492 · Residential College Plus 1 $4,878 · All Access Plus 1 $4,880 · Ultimate, an optional add-on, $7,490. Note that Weekly 12, Going Greek and Weekly 10 were discontinued for 2026–27 — the cheap plans were removed, so the floor rose to $4,492.

Where those meal prices come from matters. Every Ole Miss Dining pricing route redirects to a marketing landing page with no dollar figures on it. The only public source for Ole Miss meal plan prices is the state IHL board's approved rate schedule — a document no prospective student would think to look for. Separately, the housing rates page still labels its 2026–27 figures "pending IHL approval," although IHL approved them on 16 April 2026 and the numbers match exactly. The disclaimer is stale.

Head to head

 On campus (first-year, typical)Off campus (4BR by the bed)
Housing$8,030 (contemporary double, ~9 mo)$699/mo × 12 = $8,388
Food$4,880 (All Access Plus 1)~$300/mo groceries × 12 = $3,600
Flex Dollars$700 (automatic)$700 (automatic — same)
Electricity$0, included~$85/mo × 12 = $1,020
Internet$0$0 — included at Lark, Redpoint, Archive
Admin + application fees$100$230
Trash fee$0$120
Renter's insurance$0~$180
Parking permit$425 residential$130–330 commuter
Total≈$14,135≈$14,368

The 9-versus-12-month mismatch is the whole story

Those totals look like a wash. They are not comparable, and the reason is the term.

The dorm number buys about nine months. The apartment number buys twelve. Ole Miss's $8,030 covers roughly mid-August to mid-May. Every Oxford student lease we documented is a 12-month, 12-installment contract: Redpoint runs 10 August 2026 to 15 July 2027; Lark 20 August to 25 July; Archive 19 August to 24 July; The Quarters 12 August to 31 July. Ivy & Elm is an 11-month lease.

Corrected for term, off campus is meaningfully cheaper: $8,388 ÷ 12 = $699 per month occupied, against $8,030 ÷ 9 = $892. That is about 22% less per month. The headline totals only look level because the apartment is selling you three extra months.

And those three months are billed whether you are in Oxford or not. Two summer installments at Lark, Archive or Redpoint run $1,398 to $2,000 for an empty bedroom. That is the number to decide on. If you will be home from May to August, the case for moving off campus rests entirely on whether you can relet.

What you'll need

Furniture — Oxford is unusually kind here. Lark, Archive, Ivy & Elm, The Quarters and The Domain all include furniture packages at no extra charge: bed, dresser, desk, chair, sofa, coffee table. Redpoint is the exception, at $25 a month. Note too that furnished means fixed: The Quarters states "you are not able to remove the furniture from your unit," so do not plan a layout around moving the bed.

A kitchen, from nothing. You gain one and lose a dining hall. The realistic swap is a $4,880 meal plan for roughly $300 a month in groceries — plus the $700 Flex charge that follows you off campus regardless.

Laundry. In-unit washer/dryer is standard at Redpoint, Archive and The Hollis — a real quality-of-life gain over a dorm laundry room, and worth weighing against a lower rent somewhere without it.

Internet is included at Lark, Redpoint, Archive, The Hollis and The Quarters. Do not read that as "utilities included." Read every inclusion list literally — at Lark it is internet plus water and sewer only.

Electricity is the genuinely new bill. Service is through Oxford Utilities and you must start it yourself. Deposit amounts and connection fees are not published on any source we could reach — call before move-in. Mississippi summers mean July and August are the expensive months, and July is inside the lease.

Renter's insurance is not universally mandated but is appearing as a required line item — The Edison bills $15 a month for liability insurance as a condition of tenancy. Budget about $180 a year either way.

A guarantor, or $1,398 up front. Redpoint, Lark and Archive all use the same wording: within seven days of signing, each resident must either provide a qualifying guarantor or pre-pay the final two installments. At $699 a month that is $1,398 before you move in. The Quarters instead sells a guarantor waiver for $550, or lets you self-qualify by income. This is the single biggest cash-flow surprise in the Oxford market.

Get the sublet answer in writing before you sign. The Quarters: "We do not provide any lease break or buy-out options. However, residents might be able to relet the bedroom to a new resident, provided they meet the criteria and execute a lease agreement." Reletting is your job, not the landlord's, and you stay liable until someone signs. Redpoint, Lark and Archive publish no sublet or lease-break policy at all.

One August 2026 market note. Two opposite signals were visible on the same day: The Quarters and The Suites showed most floor plans sold out for Fall 2026, while Archive was discounting hard off list and Ivy & Elm was running "half off first month's rent plus a $500 gift card if signed within 24 hours." The Edison advertised "up to 2 months free." Close-in inventory clears; newer and farther-out inventory discounts late. A student shopping in August has leverage — but only on the second tier.

Apartment checklist   Apartment shop

Staying in the dorms instead? Head back to the Ole Miss dorm dimensions and dorm packing list.

Some links on this site are affiliate links — if you buy or request a quote through them, Elevate My Dorm may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, Elevate My Dorm earns from qualifying purchases. Prices are approximate and change often; the current price always appears on the retailer’s own site. About us