Where students live
Rutgers–New Brunswick is not one campus but five, spread across two municipalities. College Avenue and Cook/Douglass sit in New Brunswick; Busch and Livingston are in Piscataway, across the Raritan River. That geography, not price, is what drives where students live.
The overwhelming majority of off-campus undergraduates cluster in downtown and uptown New Brunswick, along the Easton Avenue, Somerset Street, Hamilton Street and Sicard/Union Street corridors next to College Avenue. Rutgers' own neighbourhood guide notes the easy bus access, plus an NJ Transit station with direct Northeast Corridor service to Manhattan, Princeton and Philadelphia.
Highland Park, across the river, is explicitly flagged by Rutgers as a place where walking to Busch, Livingston or Cook/Douglass is impractical — it suits graduate students and families. Piscataway contains Busch and Livingston and offers apartments and townhouses, but Rutgers warns distance "can vary based on bus dependency." Edison, East Brunswick and Somerset all require a car.
The bus is free, and that is not a small thing. Movement between campuses runs on the Rutgers Campus Bus system — routes A, B, BL Loop, C, EE, F, H, LX, REXB and REXL. Rutgers states it plainly: "You do not have to pay a fare to ride the bus." No ID is required during normal hours. Service runs Monday to Thursday 6 a.m. to 3:30 a.m., and 24 hours Friday through Sunday. The 3 a.m. to 6 a.m. Knight Mover shuttle on weeknights is call-request only and does require a Rutgers ID. Track buses with TripShot.
Heads up — this school breaks the usual rules
- Move off campus and your car has nowhere legal to go. Rutgers' own Student Parking FAQ states: "Effective Fall 2025, Off-campus parking permits will no longer be available." Rutgers still requires a permit for any vehicle on university property, including one parked "only… at night and on the weekends."
- Rutgers contradicts itself on what off-campus living costs, by $13,864. The Admissions tuition page publishes only "Commuter, Food and Housing $6,060" and "On-Campus $21,943" — no off-campus column. The Scarlet Hub Cost of Attendance PDF, same year, puts off-campus housing and food at $19,924. That $6,060 is the living-with-parents figure, about $505 a month, which rents nothing in New Brunswick.
- The replacement parking is rationed. New Brunswick Parking Authority decks run $200–$210 a month, and on-street tenant permits are capped: "A maximum of two Tenant Permits per dwelling unit." A four-bedroom apartment with four cars can legally permit two.
- Private buildings now charge more per month than a Rutgers permit cost per term. The Standard charges $210 a month and Verve $199–$299 — against Rutgers commuter permits at $115 for Busch, Livingston or Cook and $230 for College Avenue, per permit, not per month.
- Verve charges a $950 annual administrative fee — or $150 with an approved guarantor. A student without a credit-worthy co-signer pays $800 more per year for the identical apartment. Published openly on its own rates page.
- New Brunswick has rent control, and most student buildings are exempt. New construction need not register until three years after its Certificate of Occupancy, and vacancy decontrol lets a landlord exceed the 2.8% cap after $3,000 of improvements. The newest buildings are the ones outside the protection.
- The housing contract is effectively non-cancellable, and Rutgers will not publish the penalty. "All signed Agreements are considered final and cancellations are not permitted except for the following reasons" — and changing your mind is not on the list. Neither the cancellation policy page nor the terms and conditions states a dollar figure.
- Some dorms lock you out over breaks, and the ones that don't cost more. A standard double in a break-closed hall is $10,326; the same room in a break-open hall is $10,742. An international student in a closed hall has to physically leave.
Buying the standard college checklist here will waste money — check your building first.
Apartments & rentals students actually use
Read the billing line first. By the bed means you sign an individual lease for your bedroom and are not liable for a roommate who defaults. By the unit means one lease — if a roommate leaves, you owe their share.
| Community | Distance | Units & rates | Furnished? | Website |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Standard at New Brunswick 90 New St. Cheapest per bed found — and the only building here with no utilities included at all | Downtown, near College Ave | Per person: 2 BR $1,068–2,150 · 3 BR $1,505 · 4 BR $879–1,535 · 5 BR $1,079 By the bed, individual leases · 12-month No utilities included, plus $5.50/mo utility admin and $13.50/mo damage waiver. Parking $210/mo Rents from a third-party listing — the property publishes none | Furnished | thestandardnewbrunswick.landmark-properties.com |
| SoCam 290 290 George St. The most inclusive rent in this market by a distance | Downtown · ~15 min walk | 1 BR $1,310 · 2 BR/2ba from $925 shared · 3 BR/1ba $1,499/person By the bed · leases 7–12 months Gas, electricity, heat, A/C, internet and trash all included Rents from a third-party listing — the property publishes none | Furnished available | socam290.com |
| Verve 88 Easton Ave | Adjacent College Ave | Per person: studio single $2,099, studio double $1,229 · 2 BR/1ba single $1,929 · 2 BR/2ba double $1,415 · 3 BR/2ba single $1,339 · 4 BR/2ba single $1,589, double $1,249 · 5 BR/3ba $1,569 By the bed · term 26 Aug 2026 – 2 Aug 2027, billed as "12 installments" Furnishings, Wi-Fi, trash. Parking $199/mo garage, $299 reserved. $950/yr admin fee, or $150 with a guarantor | Furnished | vervenb.com |
| Gardens at Raritan 1 Chester Circle. The only listing here with off-street parking included | ~12 min to College Ave Student Center | $1,576–2,865/mo per unit By the unit · leases 6, 9 or 12 months Water, sewer, trash, lawn care, pest control, snow removal. Off-street parking included; garage $125 | Not stated | offcampushousing.rutgers.edu |
| Skyline Tower 60 Paterson St | ~1.5 mi | 1 BR $2,075–2,225 · 2 BR/1ba $2,665–2,750 · 2 BR/1.5ba $2,985 By the unit · leases 6–12 months Water, sewer, trash. Parking $160/mo off-site. Pets $350 once + $40/mo each Third-party listing | Not stated | apartments.com |
| Premier Properties 205 Easton Ave · 6 Sicard St | 5–7 min walk | 205 Easton 1–3 BR $2,100–3,420 · 6 Sicard 1 BR $1,625–1,800 By the unit · inclusions not published | Not stated | offcampushousing.rutgers.edu |
| The Residence at 50 Easton | ~5 min to The Oval | Rent could not be verified — "call for price" on all four floor plans, on Rutgers' own portal Trash, recycling, snow removal, pest control, washer/dryer, A/C. 12-month plus short-term options | Not stated | offcampushousing.rutgers.edu |
| The Aspire 135 Somerset St | 6-min walk to the train | Studio $2,350+ · 1 BR $2,495+ · 2 BR $3,495+ By the unit Indoor parking, 24-hr doorman, rooftop deck, in-unit washer/dryer. A limited number of income-restricted units exist | Not specified | theaspire.com |
| The Quincy 120 Neilson St. Watch the fee stack on this one | Downtown | Studio $2,380+ · 1 BR $2,782+ · 2 BR $3,531+ By the unit Resident pays electric and water/sewer. Mandatory "Lifestyle Fee" $550/year due at move-in, trash $35/mo, utility billing admin $5.12/mo, renters liability insurance required | Not specified | greystar.com |
| Pleasant View Gardens 258 Carlton Ave, Piscataway | Nearest Busch/Livingston | 1 BR $1,889+ · 2 BR $2,449+ By the unit · inclusions not published Third-party listing | Not stated | apartments.com |
| Parktowne Apartments 11 Raritan Ave, Highland Park | "Less than a mile" | Studio, 1 BR, 2 BR — rent not published, marketed only as "affordable" By the unit | Not stated | jcmliving.com |
Details compiled from Rutgers' own off-campus portal, landlord sites and public listings, August 2026. Rates and availability change every lease season — verify everything with the property. Two structural notes: bigger units are much cheaper per bed (a Standard 4-bedroom starts at $879 a person while a 2-bedroom starts at $1,068 and reaches $2,150), and "double" occupancy does heavy lifting in advertised prices — Verve's headline $1,159 is a 2 BR/1ba double with three residents, i.e. sharing a bedroom; the single-occupancy version of that same floor plan is $1,929. Four properties near campus publish no rent on their own websites: The Standard, SoCam 290, The Residence at 50 Easton and Parktowne. One data-quality warning: Rutgers' portal displays the same four floor plans for both The Residence at 50 Easton and Gardens at Raritan, two unrelated properties at opposite ends of town — treat square footage there as unverified.
The rules nobody tells you about
New Brunswick has rent control — and most student buildings are exempt from it
The maximum allowable increase for 2024 was 2.8%, with 30 days' written notice required. The exemptions are what matter to students. New-construction units need not register until three years after their Certificate of Occupancy. College dormitory rooms and state fraternities and sororities are exempt from registration entirely. Owner-occupied two-family dwellings must register but are not rent-controlled.
Vacancy decontrol lets a landlord exceed the cap outright: Market Vacancy Decontrol requires at least "$3,000 in total improvements" amounting to a minimum 20% of annual rent within two years; a Vacancy Adjustment Request allowed "2.8% + 4% = 6.8%" in 2024. The practical read: the shiny new buildings students want are precisely the ones outside rent control.
Rutgers publishes no live-on requirement — and no housing guarantee either
We checked the Residence Life housing information page, the new-student housing page and the Housing Terms and Conditions. None of them publishes a first-year live-on requirement, and none publishes a housing guarantee. Unlike most large publics, Rutgers–New Brunswick appears not to require first-years to live on campus.
An absence cannot be proved from three pages, so take that as written: Rutgers publishes no live-on requirement on its Residence Life pages. Confirm with Residence Life before you plan around it.
There is a $200 non-refundable deposit just to enter the lottery
"There is a $200 non-refundable housing deposit required at the end of the housing application payable by credit card." The deadline for June selection was 5 June 2026. And: "Students who walk away from the process are not guaranteed housing after selection concludes."
The meal plan mandate stops at the residence hall door
First-year students in a residence hall must buy a minimum 210-meal plan; returning students in a residence hall a minimum 150-meal plan. The mandate applies only to residence halls. On-campus apartment residents get an optional 100-meal plan; off-campus students have no requirement at all.
Which means moving into an on-campus apartment — Livingston, Nichols, Richardson — legally escapes a $6,674 to $7,064 charge without leaving campus. Worth knowing before you conclude that moving off is the only way out.
One trapdoor on rollover: unused fall meals roll into spring only if you buy the same tier or upgrade. Downgrading forfeits the rollover entirely. All meals expire after spring with no cash refund, and guest meals never roll over.
Three lease rules Rutgers itself warns about
New Jersey caps the security deposit at 1.5 months' rent — Rutgers says so on its own FAQ. It also warns there is no cooling-off period by default: "unless your lease contains a clause describing such a period, you will be legally bound to the conditions of your lease upon signing it." And: "do not sign a lease with blank spaces."
An unrenewed lease does not end — it converts. "A yearly lease that is not resigned automatically becomes a month-to-month lease when the written lease expires, unless you have moved out." Landlords may also require 30 or 60 days' written notice to renew or vacate. Students who simply stop responding at lease end can find themselves still tenants.
Attic and basement bedrooms are a coin flip. Rutgers warns they "can be legal but must meet certain housing codes enforced by the city" — legality is municipal, not universal. In a market where landlords maximise bedroom count, this is the rule most likely to be quietly broken.
How it compares to a dorm
These are academic-year rates — two semesters, not twelve months.
| Item | 2026–27 |
|---|---|
| Standard double, break-closed hall | $10,326 |
| Standard double, break-open hall | $10,742 |
| Busch Suites double | $10,618 |
| University Center at Easton Ave (apartment) | $11,612 |
| B.E.S.T. Hall 4-bed suite single | $11,736 |
| Livingston Apts, 4BR/2BA single — 9-month | $12,738 |
| Livingston Apts, 4BR/2BA single — 12-month | $16,986 |
| Required 210 meal plan (first-year, residence hall) | $7,064 |
| Required 150 meal plan (returning, residence hall) | $6,674 |
| Optional 100 plan (apartment residents) | $4,228 |
The cheapest realistic first-year package is $10,326 + $7,064 = $17,390 for about nine months. A returning student in a standard double: $17,000.
Mind the gap between the allowance and the bill. Rutgers' published allowance for on-campus food and housing is $21,943, but the cheapest actual billed combination is $17,390 — about $4,553 less. The allowance assumes a mid-range room and a richer meal plan. Readers routinely assume the allowance is the bill.
What off campus actually costs
Rutgers' own off-campus allowance is $19,924 for housing and food together — roughly $1,660 a month for both, which is achievable only in a shared three-to-five-bedroom.
| Line, per bed per month | Low (shared 4–5 BR) | High (1 BR or low-density) |
|---|---|---|
| Rent per bed | $879 (Standard 4 BR) | $1,589–2,099 (Verve single) |
| Electric, gas, water if not included | $60–150 | $60–150 |
| Internet if not included | $0–45 | $0–45 |
| Renter's insurance | ~$15–20 | ~$15–20 |
| Mandatory admin and waiver fees | $19/mo (Standard) to $79/mo (Verve's $950 ÷ 12) | Same |
| Monthly subtotal, no parking | ≈$975–1,250 | ≈$1,700–2,300 |
| Parking, if you have a car | +$160–299 | +$160–299 |
Times twelve months, that is roughly $11,700–15,000 a year at the low end and $20,400–27,600 at the high end, before food.
The 9-versus-12-month mismatch — and the cleanest number on this page
This is where the comparison actually turns. The dorm's $10,326 buys two semesters, and in a break-closed hall you are locked out during university breaks. The off-campus figure buys twelve months — or in Verve's case 26 August to 2 August, billed as "12 installments." A $17,390 dorm package and a $14,000 off-campus year are not comparable units.
Rutgers prices this honestly on its own apartments, which makes it the cleanest apples-to-apples number available. The same Livingston 4-bedroom is $12,738 for 9 months and $16,986 for 12 — a $4,248 premium for the summer, about $1,062 a month for those three extra months. That is Rutgers' own valuation of a New Brunswick summer, and it is the number to hold every off-campus quote against.
The bottom line: off campus is cheaper per month in a shared unit, and can be more expensive per year once summer, parking and admin fees land. The break-even depends almost entirely on whether you can sublet the summer — and Rutgers is explicit that subletting requires written landlord permission and leaves the original tenant fully liable: "The original tenant remains on the lease and continues to be responsible for all lease provisions and for the actions of her/his subletter till the end of the agreement."
For completeness: the on-campus rate excludes tuition ($15,381 in-state), fees ($4,008), books ($1,504) and travel. The off-campus build-up excludes food entirely, furniture for unfurnished units, and the security deposit.
What you'll need
Furniture — or not. The purpose-built student buildings (Verve, The Standard, SoCam 290) come furnished, and that is genuinely load-bearing here. An unfurnished conventional building like Skyline Tower or The Aspire means buying a bed, desk and sofa for a 12-month stay. Price the furnished premium against a one-time furnishing cost before assuming furnished is the expensive option.
A kitchen, from nothing. The meal-plan mandate disappears the moment you leave a residence hall — a $6,674 to $7,064 swing. But you now buy and cook all your own food, and Rutgers' own off-campus allowance bundles food into $19,924 rather than breaking it out.
Laundry: verify per unit, not per building. In-unit washer/dryer is standard at Verve, The Aspire and Skyline Tower, and in "select units" at SoCam 290. Gardens at Raritan has shared on-site laundry.
Internet is included at Verve and SoCam 290. It is not included at The Standard, where you arrange and pay all utilities separately and still pay a $5.50 monthly utility billing admin fee. Budget an install appointment and possibly a router.
Renter's insurance is now your problem, and sometimes contractual — The Quincy explicitly requires renters liability insurance. Note that The Standard's $13.50 monthly damage waiver is not the same thing as insuring your own belongings.
Think hard about the lease term. Rutgers warns most leases run twelve months and "commonly begin in May or June or in August or September." Shorter terms do exist — Skyline Tower and Gardens at Raritan offer 6 to 12 months, SoCam 290 offers 7 to 12 — and for a student who leaves for the summer those are worth more than a lower headline rent.
Parking is the biggest practical change and the one students miss. Your Rutgers permit option is gone as of Fall 2025, and the replacement costs $160 to $299 a month or a rationed on-street permit capped at two per dwelling unit. Sort this out before you sign, not after.
Apartment checklist Apartment shop
Some links on this site are affiliate links — if you buy or request a quote through them, Elevate My Dorm may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, Elevate My Dorm earns from qualifying purchases. Prices are approximate and change often; the current price always appears on the retailer’s own site. About us