Where students live
UB is split across two campuses about three miles apart, and your address decision follows from which one you're based at. North Campus is in suburban Amherst and holds most undergraduate programs plus all five of UB's on-campus apartment complexes — Creekside Village, Flickinger Court, Flint Village, Hadley Village and South Lake Village. South Campus sits in the City of Buffalo at Main and Bailey, houses architecture and the health sciences schools, holds about 1,000 residents in Clement and Goodyear halls, and has its own Metro station.
University Heights is the residential grid immediately north and east of South Campus — Winspear, Northrup, Merrimac, Heath, Englewood, Montrose. Porch-fronted early-twentieth-century houses, subdivided into three- to seven-bedroom student lets. It is the cheapest option near UB and the most legally complicated.
The two transit systems are not the same deal. UB Stampede connects North and South Campus and is genuinely free — "getting around campus and between campuses is fast, easy and free" — with the all-stops route running 5:56 a.m. to 2:55 a.m. on weekdays. But the Stampede does not serve off-campus apartments; every published stop is a UB campus location, and Amherst complexes run their own private shuttles instead. And Metro Rail is not free with a UB card, which is the single most common false assumption here.
Heads up — this school breaks the usual rules
- UB budgets your off-campus room at exactly the dorm rate. Its 2026–27 cost-of-attendance table gives on-campus and off-campus students the identical allowance — room $10,376, meals $8,230. That $10,376 is UB's on-campus double rate ($10,375.68) rounded to the dollar. The budget contains zero allowance for the three extra months of lease or for Buffalo winter heat.
- Metro Rail is not free, even though the line ends on UB's South Campus. NFTA's discounted CRAM programme lists Bryant & Stratton, Villa Maria, Erie Community College and UB Medical School — not the University at Buffalo. UB's own fee page confirms it: 2,473 medical students got NFTA passes in 2024-25, out of an institution with more than 30,000 students. Everyone else pays up to $75 a month.
- Buffalo caps unrelated housemates at four — and Heights landlords openly advertise seven. The Green Code allows "up to four individuals not related by blood, marriage, or adoption" unless the household establishes "functional and factual family equivalent" status. On the same day, one landlord listed a six-bedroom at $660 per person and a seven-bedroom at $600.
- Amherst has no such cap — its definition of family names no number at all. The four-person rule bites in University Heights and does not exist in Amherst. That is a real, checkable difference between the two sides of UB.
- Your landlord's paperwork failure is your eviction. Buffalo requires a rental registration certificate, and thirty days after registration is due "a notice to vacate may be issued and all tenants removed." You have the right to demand the certificate as a prospective tenant — ask before you sign.
- UB markets "no 12-month lease" and then charges $750 to leave. Cancelling after the deadline forfeits the $300 housing deposit and adds a $450 early release charge. And the agreement "shall constitute only a license and shall not be deemed to constitute a lease" — a licensee has weaker protections than a tenant.
- The apartments are closed to first-years entirely. First-years may choose only South Campus Halls, Governors and Ellicott. A first-year who wants an apartment has exactly one route: off campus. UB publishes no live-on requirement.
- You must shovel the public sidewalk by 9 a.m., and violators "may be liable for any injury or damage resulting therefrom." Heights landlords push this to tenants explicitly. In Buffalo that is not a chore — it is a transfer of legal liability.
Buying the standard college checklist here will waste money — check your building first.
Apartments & rentals students actually use
Campus assignment below comes from UB's own off-campus resource list, which splits its recommendations into North Campus and South Campus groups.
| Community | Distance | Units & rates | Furnished? | Website |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UB South Housing University Heights houses — Winspear, Northrup, Merrimac, Heath, Montrose, Englewood, Springville. Cheapest option near UB, and the most legally complicated | South · walk | Per person: 3BR $550 · 4BR $550 · 5BR $550, or $500 if the tenant pays utilities · 6BR $660 · 7BR $600. Whole house $2,000–2,400/mo Mostly by the person; some whole-house Heat included on most listings — "gas, heat, water, garbage and lawn cutting." Tenant pays internet and does their own snow shovelling | Partial — mattress, table, chair only | ubsouth.com |
| University Village at Sweethome 283 American Campus Dr, Amherst | North | 1BR $1,014 · 2BR $769/bed · 4BR $669/bed By the bed, individual leases · ~11.5-month term Internet, cable, water, sewer, trash. Heat and gas not listed as included Rents third-party — the operator's own floor-plan pages do not render without JavaScript | Furnished | americancampus.com |
| Villas at Chestnut Ridge 3751 Nickel Way, Amherst | North | Studio $1,014–1,029 · 2BR $829/bed · 4BR $724/bed By the bed · ~11.5-month term, installments 1 Aug – 1 Jul 1 Gbps internet per bed; water, sewer, trash. Carries an "Electricity Cap" whose dollar value is published nowhere Rents third-party | "Fully furnished at no extra fee" | americancampus.com |
| Collegiate Village 105 Affinity Ln, Buffalo. The only complex on this list with heat included and by-the-bed leases | South | Shared suite $704/person · 4BR/4BA $844/bed · 2BR/2BA $1,004/bed · studios $1,229–1,279 · 1BR $1,484/unit · 1BR+den $1,890/unit By the bed — "you [do] not have financial responsibility for the vacant room" Heat included: heat, hot water, cable, wireless internet, parking, maintenance. Electricity for A/C excluded | Fully furnished | collegiatevillagewny.com |
| Auden Buffalo 2915–2949 N Forest Rd, Amherst. Its own site is ~20 months out of date | Not on UB's list | 3BR/2BA $715/bed · 4BR/2BA $800–890/bed · 4BR/3BA $815/bed · 4BR/4BA $845/bed · studio $1,265 · 1BR $1,595 By the bed on multi-bed plans · 4–16 month leases "Utilities, valet trash, high-speed internet, and parking are all included" Rents third-party — the property's own page still lists 4-bed units at $490 and promotes a January 2025 free-month offer | Fully furnished | audenbuffalo.com |
| Villas on Rensch Amherst | North | 4BR/4BA townhome, 1,708 sq ft: $910/bed By the bed, individual leases Cable, internet, water, sewer, trash. Carries an "Electricity Cap" — amount not published Rents third-party | Furnished | livevillasonrensch.com |
| AXIS 360 89 LaSalle Ave, Buffalo | South | Studio $1,459/unit · 2BR/2BA $1,109/bed · 3BR/3BA $999/bed · 4BR/4BA $879/bed Publishes per-bed and whole-unit prices side by side · lease 14 Aug 2026 – 11 Jul 2027 Heat NOT included — only water, trash and high-speed internet | Not stated | axis360apartments.com |
| Princeton Court Princeton Ave, Buffalo | South | Studio $996–1,082 · 1BR $498–1,069 · 2BR $1,050–1,290 per unit By the unit Water included; heat and electric not listed as included | Not stated | princetoncourtapartmentsmjp.com |
| The Station at Buffalo 1185 Sweet Home Rd, Amherst | North | Not published on its own site. Aggregator figures conflict badly — $210/bed against $1,026–1,186 — so this one is could not verify Site states "rates are per person/per bed" Heat NOT included. "Excluded utilities: Electricity, gas, and water" | "Designer furniture package" | thestationbuffalo.com |
| Air Buffalo · Block20 · UB-Apartments | Various | Rents not published. Air Buffalo — which is on UB's official resource list — still advertises "immediate move in and Fall 2024" on its homepage, two years stale. Block20 offers "view pricing & specials" only. UB-Apartments says "affordably priced" | Block20 & UB-Apts: furnished | airbuffalo.com |
| The Rails 2939 Main St, Buffalo | South | Could not verify — the property's own floor-plans page is blocked by robots.txt and would not open. Do not budget from an aggregator figure for this one | Unknown | — |
Details compiled from UB's own resource list, landlord sites and public listings, August 2026. Rates and availability change every lease season — verify everything with the property. Five of the eleven entries above do not publish a rent on their own website, and two publish figures that are provably out of date. That is a real finding about this market, not a gap in the research: never budget from a Buffalo student-housing website's own price page without calling to confirm. Note the billing split, too. The purpose-built complexes bill by the bed with individual leases, so an absconding roommate is not your problem. The University Heights houses and the conventional Amherst complexes bill by the unit — and UB warns in its own words that "all tenants are each responsible for all of the rent (not just their part)."
The rules nobody tells you about
Heating: who pays, and what it actually costs
Buffalo's heating season is long, and the bills are the biggest off-campus surprise. The gas utility for Buffalo and Amherst is National Fuel, which forecast that "for the five-month heating season from November 2025 through March 2026, the average residential customer is expected to pay approximately $677, or $135 per month," up from $585 the winter before.
Three caveats before you use that number. First, the 2026–27 forecast has not been published yet — National Fuel issues it in mid-October, so the figure above is last season's. Second, it is for an "average residential customer," meaning a normal single household; no published figure exists for a five-, six- or seven-bedroom uninsulated University Heights student house, and it will be materially higher. Third, where a heat cap exists its value is hidden — both Villas on Rensch and Villas at Chestnut Ridge list an "Electricity Cap" as a feature, and the dollar value of that cap is published nowhere on the operator's own site.
One landlord has already priced this risk for you, and it is the most useful number on this page. UB South Housing's 112 Winspear listing, a five-bed, offers a straight choice: "$550 per person per month including utilities" — or $500 per person if the tenant pays utilities.
That is a $50 per person per month discount to take on the utility bill. Across five tenants over twelve months it is $3,000 — the landlord's own valuation of a Buffalo winter's gas and electricity for that house. Take the $550.
Your legal floor on heat, which applies to every rented dwelling in New York: the heating season runs 1 October to 31 May. Daytime, 6 a.m. to 10 p.m., the landlord must maintain "at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit" when it is below 55°F outside. Overnight, 10 p.m. to 6 a.m., "at least 62 degrees Fahrenheit, regardless of the outside temperature." Hot water at a constant minimum of 120°F, 365 days a year. Complaints go to City of Buffalo Rental Inspections or the state Attorney General. UB's own guidance is blunt: "unlivable conditions can be legal grounds to break a lease," and "space heaters cannot replace furnaces." If a landlord suggests otherwise, walk.
Buffalo caps unrelated housemates at four — Heights landlords advertise seven
Buffalo's Green Code defines a family as "any number of individuals related by blood, marriage, or adoption; or up to four individuals not related by blood, marriage, or adoption living together; or more than four… who meet the criteria for a functional and factual family equivalent."
Beyond four unrelated people, the household has to establish "functional and factual family equivalent" status. Meanwhile a University Heights landlord publicly lists a six-bedroom at $660 per person, a seven-bedroom at $600 per person, and a five-bedroom at $550. Five or more unrelated students in a City of Buffalo house is not automatically lawful. Before you sign a 5+ bedroom lease in the Heights, ask the landlord in writing what the certificate of occupancy permits.
And Amherst has no such cap. The Town of Amherst defines family as any number of individuals living as a single housekeeping unit who are related, or "whose living arrangements are the functional equivalent of a traditional family." No number appears anywhere.
Your landlord's paperwork failure is your eviction
Buffalo requires a rental registration certificate: "No person shall allow to be occupied, or rent to another for occupancy, any dwelling unit unless the owner has first obtained a rental dwelling unit registration certificate." The city inspects all non-owner-occupied single and double rental units every three years.
Two things every Heights tenant should know. You have the right to demand it — the code requires the certificate be posted in the public corridor or "produced by the owner at the request of a tenant, a prospective tenant, or upon demand of the Commissioner." And the penalty falls on you: thirty days after registration is due, "a notice to vacate may be issued and all tenants removed."
Amherst runs a parallel system, with $75 per unit initial inspection, $75 annual renewal, penalties up to $1,500 and 15 days' imprisonment, and the same tenant-removal provision. Amherst additionally requires a Property Manager License, whose stated purpose is "ensuring that rental units are safe and that the surrounding neighborhood is minimally impacted by transient living and absentee owners" — an ordinance written, in plain sight, about student rentals.
UB publishes no live-on requirement — and students confuse it with Buffalo State
We searched UB Campus Living's application pages, the housing agreement pages, the admissions living-and-dining page and the cost pages. None publishes a live-on or residency requirement of any kind. The application page's framing is optional: new students "have the opportunity to submit their housing application… until spaces are unavailable." UB does not publish a live-on requirement, and first-years may live off campus.
This matters because SUNY Buffalo State — a different institution four miles away — does have one: full-time first-year and sophomore students living beyond a 35-mile radius must live on campus for four consecutive semesters or until they earn 60 credits. Students and parents routinely attribute the Buffalo State rule to UB. They are separate schools with opposite policies.
But UB does restrict which on-campus housing you may pick by year. First-years may choose only South Campus Halls, Governors and Ellicott. The apartments — Creekside, Hadley, Flint, Flickinger, South Lake — are closed to first-years entirely. So a first-year who wants an apartment has exactly one route: off campus.
The meal plan requirement stops at the residence hall door
"First-Year students that live in the residential halls are required to purchase a UB Dining meal plan" for both semesters. Upper-year students in halls or on-campus apartments, commuters and graduate students may purchase one. So it is mandatory for first-years in halls only — it does not reach on-campus apartment residents and does not reach off-campus students. Cancellation is deliberately awkward: "all cancellations must be completed in person" at a UB Card Office, one change per semester.
And UB will not tell you what Flex 19 costs in 2026–27. MyUBCard lists Flex 19 at $3,720 a semester, with no academic-year label anywhere on the page. Worse, UB's own numbers disagree: the cost-of-attendance table budgets $8,230 for meals, and the admissions page describes $18,606 as covering a double room and the Flex 19 plan. $18,606 minus $10,376 is $8,230, i.e. $4,115 a semester for Flex 19 — $395 more than MyUBCard's published price. UB publishes two different Flex 19 figures and labels neither with a year. The true 2026–27 price is not published in verifiable form.
Parking is "free" because you already paid for it — $494.66 a year
"UB students register for their virtual parking permit at no additional cost. A portion of your transportation fee pays for your parking registration." That transportation fee is $247.33 per semester, $494.66 per year for full-time undergraduates, inside a comprehensive fee of $1,561.25 a semester. It is mandatory whether or not you own a car.
The good news: off-campus students get the better parking deal on campus. "If you live off campus you may park in any student designated lot, including the commuter lots, Jarvis A and Hochstetter B, on the North Campus," with no time-of-day restrictions — unlike first-year residents.
Winter street-parking bans — different on each side of the city line
City of Buffalo, covering University Heights and South Campus: between 15 November and 1 April, from 1:30 a.m. to 7:00 a.m., it is unlawful to park on any portion of any street on which passenger buses legally operate. Main Street is on that list — "Edward Street to the City Line," the full length past South Campus. The start date is not reliable either: in a recent year the city announced enforcement "will not begin until December 1, at the earliest," so students who plan around 15 November can be caught either way.
Town of Amherst, covering North Campus, is far stricter — every street, not just bus routes: "The parking of vehicles is hereby prohibited on all Town and county roads within the Town of Amherst… November 1 through and including April 1… between the hours of 1:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m."
If you rent in Amherst without a driveway or an assigned space, you have nowhere legal to leave a car overnight for five months of the year. Confirm off-street parking before signing anything.
Snow, parties, and what UB says about the housing it recommends
You must clear the public sidewalk by 9 a.m. Buffalo's code makes it "the duty of every owner or occupant of any premises abutting any public street" to remove snow and ice, and extends the duty explicitly to "the owner, lessee, tenant, occupant or other person having charge of any building or lot." Violators "may be liable for any injury or damage resulting therefrom" — personal-injury exposure for a slip on your sidewalk, which is why the liability half of renter's insurance matters more here than the contents half.
A party can cost $1,500, and each day counts separately. Buffalo's nuisance party ordinance holds liable "any person who is an owner, occupant, tenant, or otherwise has rightful possession" who "sponsors, conducts, hosts, invites or permits" a gathering involving open containers, underage drinking, damage or "unreasonable noises." The penalty is not more than $1,500 or 15 days, or both, for each offence — and "each day that a violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation." UB adds that its Code of Student Conduct applies "regardless of whether a violation occurs on or off-campus," so a Heights house party is double jeopardy.
UB warns about the housing it points students to. From its own Living Off Campus page: "many off-campus apartments do not meet these minimum standards — especially properties that have historically been rented to students." The same page notes that basement and attic bedrooms are illegal without fire escapes — directly relevant to 5+ bedroom Heights houses where the bedroom count is reached by converting attics and basements. UB also advises never paying rent in cash: use "personal check, as you will then have a record."
One underused perk: the Evening Express
UB runs an on-request service "daily from 8:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m. during the fall and spring semesters," for students, faculty and staff with a valid UB ID, "from the South Campus to within a 1.5 mile radius from Main Circle." That radius covers essentially all of University Heights. It is a genuine argument for renting in the Heights over Amherst, and it has no equivalent for off-campus North Campus renters.
How it compares to a dorm
All figures per academic year, roughly 20 August 2026 to 16 May 2027 — about nine months.
| Room type | Per year |
|---|---|
| Value-Bull Quad | $7,367.36 |
| Value-Bull Triple | $8,400.00 |
| Quad | $8,664.32 |
| Triple | $9,880.64 |
| Quad with bath | $10,162.88 |
| Double | $10,375.68 |
| Triple with bath | $10,510.08 |
| Greiner Hall | $11,061.12 |
| Single | $11,536.00 |
On-campus apartments — all North Campus, closed to first-years — run from $10,306.24 at Hadley Village, Flint 4-bed and South Lake 4-bed, through Creekside at $10,902.08 and Flickinger Court at $11,921.28, up to $15,064.00 for a South Lake one-bedroom. UB's own headline bundle is $18,606 for "a double occupancy room in an on-campus residence hall and the Flex 19 meal plan" — though see the caveat above about which Flex 19 price UB actually means.
The comparison, and the 9-versus-12-month trap
The dorm figure buys about nine months. Almost every off-campus lease buys 11.5 to 12. Comparing headline numbers is the standard mistake, so here are two worked examples that both use a real published rent and the real published heating figure, with food held at UB's own $8,230 allowance so the two sides are comparable.
Dorm, double plus Flex 19, nine months: $18,606, or about $2,067 per month of occupancy. Heat, electricity, water, internet, laundry and furniture all included; no summer obligation; no snow shovelling; no renter's insurance needed.
Scenario A — Collegiate Village 4BR/4BA, South Campus, heat included, $844 a bed. Rent for 12 months is $10,128; heat, electricity, water, internet, cable, parking and furniture are all $0, included; food at UB's allowance is $8,230; renter's insurance is roughly $150–200. That lands at about $18,500–18,600 a year for twelve months, or $1,545 per month of occupancy.
Scenario B — a five-bed University Heights house at the tenant-pays rate, $500 a person. Rent for 12 months is $6,000. Heat and gas: the utility average splits five ways to about $135 a person for the season — if the house performs like an average home, which an old five-bedroom will not. The landlord's own pricing implies $50 per person per month, i.e. $600 a year, and that is the number to use. Electricity, internet and snow shovelling are yours; food is $8,230. That lands at about $15,000–15,300 a year, or $1,265 per month of occupancy.
What that actually means
Per month of occupancy, off campus wins clearly — roughly $1,265 to $1,545 against the dorm's $2,067. But on total annual outlay the gap almost vanishes. Scenario A lands within about $100 of the dorm's $18,606, because those three extra months of rent eat the entire saving.
You are buying three extra months, not saving money. That is fine if you need summer housing, a research placement or a Buffalo internship. It is a bad trade if you fly home in May and cannot sublet.
The single biggest swing factor is who pays for heat. Between an all-in complex and a tenant-pays Heights house, that line moves by roughly $600 per person per year on the landlord's own arithmetic — and by more in a badly insulated house. And UB's financial aid will not help you tell the difference, because it budgets $10,376 for your room whether you are in a nine-month dorm or a twelve-month lease with a gas meter.
What you'll need
Furniture — genuinely variable here. The purpose-built complexes are furnished at no extra charge. University Heights houses are the opposite: UB South Housing supplies only a mattress, study table and chair per bedroom. No sofa, no dining table, nothing communal. If you rent in the Heights, budget for a living room as well as a bedroom.
A kitchen, from nothing. You gain one and lose the dining hall. The meal-plan requirement does not follow you, and you can still buy any plan voluntarily as a commuter — worth considering if you have back-to-back classes on North Campus.
Laundry. On campus it is free and on-site. Off campus it splits: in-unit washer/dryer at Collegiate Village, Auden and the American Campus properties; "free laundry machines in the basement" at UB South Housing. Confirm before signing — coin laundry is a real recurring cost UB flags explicitly.
Internet is included at every complex reviewed, with 1 Gbps per bed at the ACC properties. It is not included in University Heights houses — "tenants take care of snow shoveling and Internet." Add $50 to $80 a month split among housemates.
Renter's insurance, for the liability more than the contents. UB strongly recommends it, and in Buffalo the liability half matters more, because the snow ordinance makes you personally liable for injuries from an unshovelled sidewalk. A shovel and a bag of salt are not optional purchases here.
Plan for the summer gap before you sign. On campus is a licence, not a lease, running 20 August to 16 May. Off campus you sign a real lease — AXIS 360's runs 14 August 2026 to 11 July 2027; the ACC properties are "approximately 11.5 months of occupancy," billed 1 August to 1 July. You will pay rent for months you may not be in Buffalo, and none of the properties reviewed publishes a sublet policy on its website. Verify in writing before signing. Note also that on a by-the-unit lease you are jointly liable for a roommate's share and on a by-the-bed lease you are not — the strongest practical argument for by-the-bed.
You do gain real tenant protections. Statewide, the security deposit is capped at one month's rent and must be returned within 14 days of vacating; application and background-check fees are capped at $20; and you are owed 30, 60 or 90 days' notice of non-renewal or a rent increase of 5% or more. UB's advice: pay first and last months' rent plus a security deposit, and never more than that up front.
Apartment checklist Apartment shop
Some links on this site are affiliate links — if you buy or request a quote through them, Elevate My Dorm may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, Elevate My Dorm earns from qualifying purchases. Prices are approximate and change often; the current price always appears on the retailer’s own site. About us